AmazonWishlist

German Shepherd Rescue & Adoptions


Do you shop at Chewy? If so, use our link so
GSRA will get donation points!
2019 Chewy

Order your Pet Food at Chewy.com and German Shepherd Rescue & Adoptions will get a $20 donation!

Bissell Partnership
Chose German Shepherd Rescue and Adoptions 
listed in a drop-down menu at checkout where it can
be selected after entering the ADOPT coupon code


Lost Pet USA Logo

Grey Muzzle

  


OUR 2019 REUNION PICNIC DONORS


2018 Burt's Bees
Burt's Bees


2019Ed Branson Art Studios
 Es Branson Art Studios
 
2018 Real Results Dog Training
Real Results Dog Training

Triangle K9

Triangle K9

2018 A Bit Off Center

A Bit off Center


 

 





Please sign our
Guestbook

Guestbook




Site Last Updated

1/17/2020 5:52 PM

 

 



 
Miss Maggie's Web Page

German Shepherd Dog (medium coat)  : :  Female (spayed)  : :  Adult  : :  Medium


More Pics...

Interested in adopting?

Bookmark and Share

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

Miss Maggie has an adoption pending.

Print an adoption flyer for Miss Maggie!

About Miss Maggie

  • Status: Available for Adoption (adoption pending) (adoption info)
  • Species: Dog
  • Rescue ID: 2019-043
  • Color: black tan
  • Ear Type: Erect
  • Tail Type: Long
  • Current Size: 71 Pounds
  • Potential Size: 75 Pounds
  • Current Age: 4 Years 6 Months (best estimate)
  • Housetrained: Yes
  • Grooming Needs: Moderate
  • Shedding Amount: Moderate
  • Owner Experience Needed: Breed
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

MISS MAGGIE ~4 years old.  Kids, dogs, and cats TBD.

GSRA adopts to residents of VA, NC, and SC only

Hello there! My name is Miss Maggie, and I am looking for a special home of my own! I am a very pretty black and tan female. I am about 4 years old, and weigh about 64 pounds. I have a smooth and shiny coat. Not much is known about my past...I ended up in a rural shelter in pretty rough shape. I was underweight, dirty, and had my eyes crusted over with crud. They thought I was blind. Fortunately, the shelter reached out to GSRA, and they brought me into the program.

I am a very friendly girl, and just want to be near my people! I am very affectionate. I will happily sleep on the bed with you if given the opportunity, but I am also perfectly happy to sleep on a dog bed nearby. I like all people, and will eagerly engage and approach with a tail wag. I am quite food motivated, so if you have a treat for me I will happily become your best friend! I have quickly integrated into this "house living" arrangement! I love air conditioning and these big fluffy dog beds. I am also very well behaved in a crate, and can actually have a dog bed in my crate and not feel compelled to destroy it. I am non destructive in the house. I ride very well in the car, and love it when I get to go to work with my foster mom. Work is busy and loud, but it does not bother me. I need to stay in the office at times, and while I may whine at the door a bit, I generally quiet down and just wait for her to return from her tasks.

I am a fairly quiet dog too. I walk well on leash and I come over when I am called. My foster mom even gave me a bath 2 weeks ago....I was a bit nervous, but I knew it was needed, so I was nice and calm. (I felt wonderful afterwards!!)

I do have a sight medical need that will require daily medication. i suffer from chronic dry eye, also known as Keratoconjunctivitis sicca or (KCS) for short. it is a congenital condition, and I need drops of medication twice a day. I also need to have my eyes flushed with saline 1-2 times a day. I am pretty well behave and tolerant for the procedure, as I have learned that I always feel better afterwards. I was seen by an eye specialist, and, in her opinion, I already have a good bit of vision loss since I was neglected for so long. There is considerable "cloudiness" on my eyes already. You would never know....I get around like a champ for the most part. I will occasionally seem a bit vision challenged in dim lighting.

I am a bit dog selective...I like some dogs, but not others. My foster mom thinks I have a few "alpha" tendencies. I can probably get along with most dogs, but would really need to meet and engage with any potential doggie siblings to check for compatibility. I seem to do better with calmer and non pushy dogs. My foster mom thinks that I may be a bit defensive because of my visual limitations, which may be why I prefer more laid back dogs that do not encroach in my space.

I am a pretty chill girl in general. I would love a home where my owner either works from home of is retired. I like going for walks and also just chilling out and watching tv. I will be a totally devoted companion for some lucky family. Come and meet me soon, I won't disappoint you.

I am heartworm positive, and will be starting treatment in mid to late August

More about Miss Maggie

Good with Dogs, Good with Kids, Good with Adults, Leashtrained, Needs special care, Eager To Please

Special Needs: Needs daily medication for chronic dry eye (KCS)

For more information on our adoptable pet list please visit: Adoptable Pet List

Please join us at our next Event(s):

Current Scheduled Events:

 

 

 

 

Other Pictures of Miss Maggie (click to see larger version):

Miss Maggie Miss Maggie Miss Maggie Miss Maggie
Miss Maggie Miss Maggie

Currently we do not know if Miss Maggie will be able to attend the event, GSRA Meet and Greet on Saturday, January 11th, 2020.
Currently we do not know if Miss Maggie will be able to attend the event, GSRA Meet and Greet on Saturday, February 8th, 2020.
Currently we do not know if Miss Maggie will be able to attend the event, GSRA Meet and Greet on Saturday, March 14th, 2020.